GardenTalkie

Gardening Related Discussion

 

My Review Of Arko Shaving Soap.

by crackstar
Gentlemen, a week ago, I received a bar of Arko shaving soap from a lovely gentleman who lives in Europe, and this soap is one I always wanted to get, but to my chagrin, it doesn't seem to be available in Montreal where I live. Although it seems to be a soap stick, I use it like any other shaving soap, I put in a mug that I've got. Last Saturday morning was my first spin with it, I showered first, then splashed some hot water on my face, then applied a hot towel for 1 minute. Then, I wet my brush, and scrubbed it against the Arko bar for a bit, and within a second, rich, clean and soapy smelling lather billowed from my face. Normally, my weekday shaves are one pass N-S and no more than that, but every Saturday, I give myself the whole treatment. I decided to take my time, clue out, and enjoy a barbershop shave, Turkish style. I did the first pass with my trusty Dovo straight N-S, nice and slow, then rinsed my face, applied another hot towel for 2 minutes this time, then relathered with the soap, and enjoyed my second pass again N-S so thoroughly, that I didn't want it to end! When it finally did, I rinsed off again, and dried off, moisturised with some Lubriderm unscented lotion, and then finally some Swiss Pitralon aftershave which smells great! I swear guys, this Arko stuff, whether be it soap or cream, is to die for. All I can say is, it's magnificent, and I know that a lot of other guys give these creams and this soap a rave review which these products deserve.

Jeff

  • Richard and others also wax philosophic about this soap - it would seem to be a superb product at bargain-basement prices. Thanks for the review!
    - Scotto, 8 years ago
  • I'm telling you this stuff is enough to want to make you rob a store to get it!:lol: Pricewise, it's apparently cheaper than cheap.

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • Hello Jeff,

    Scott echoes my sentiments about Arko exactly. I could shave with it everyday and not tire of it.

    Cheers,
    Richard
    Plano TX
    - Coche_y_bondhu, 8 years ago
  • I know, Richard, I love it as much as you do. Until I get some more of it, until I can stock up a bit on it, it looks like I'm going to have to ration it. Just one shave a week or so. Even the other creams, because they're too precious.

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • Do you slice off an end of the cylindrical cake and place it in a mug, or do you just mash the entire thing down into a mug or bowl?

    I've also though about using it like a stick: lathering the end of the soap in one hand with the brush in the other. But I'm worried about dropping everything if I do that, do to the slippery nature of the beasts...

    Help! :eek:

    Thanks!

    Tom
    - vontech, 8 years ago
  • Hello Tom,

    I just jam the stick in my ceramic jar. If I could fit two sticks in there, I would!

    Yes, you can use the Arko as a shave stick, I believe it was originally designed for that use. I think the wrapper will facilitate that use.

    But I think that will get slippery and messy.

    Cheers,
    Richard
    Plano TX
    - Coche_y_bondhu, 8 years ago
  • That's exactly what I do with it, Richard, it fits perfectly in one of my big bowls. I use it like any other soap I have. Does it ever smell nice, and that lather......................, wow!!!

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • Richard and Tom,
    I saw this thread on Arko shaving sticks, and it seems to me that there is confusion on how shaving sticks are intended to be used. After washing my face and steaming it for a while with a hot towel, I wet the area to be shaved with hot water, then rub the end of the stick over the area to be shaved. Then I run hot water over the brush, and shake some of the excess water out.
    I then use the brush to make the lather directly on my face, adding a little more hot water to the brush as necessary.
    I found these directions for the use of a shaving stick in an old advertisement for Colgate's shaving stick, and it works just fine.
    I am glad to have found the Arko stick, as I used to use shaving sticks that I found in Spain and Australia; in the early '70s, in the US, I used to see Williams' shaving sticks in drugstores, but at that time, I had no idea how to use one. I really like the scent of the Arko stick, and it produces ample lather, too.
    - caloy24, 8 years ago
  • I know, Caloy, I never saw so much lather from a soap stick like that, and the beauty is it's so damn cheap. It's clear and away the best soap I ever used! :biggrin:

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • Richard and Tom,
    I saw this thread on Arko shaving sticks, and it seems to me that there is confusion on how shaving sticks are intended to be used. After washing my face and steaming it for a while with a hot towel, I wet the area to be shaved with hot water, then rub the end of the stick over the area to be shaved. Then I run hot water over the brush, and shake some of the excess water out.
    I then use the brush to make the lather directly on my face, adding a little more hot water to the brush as necessary.
    I found these directions for the use of a shaving stick in an old advertisement for Colgate's shaving stick, and it works just fine.
    I am glad to have found the Arko stick, as I used to use shaving sticks that I found in Spain and Australia; in the early '70s, in the US, I used to see Williams' shaving sticks in drugstores, but at that time, I had no idea how to use one. I really like the scent of the Arko stick, and it produces ample lather, too.
    That's one way. I clearly remember when the most widely used shaving soap in Italy was the Palmolive shaving stick: everyone used it! It was Palmolive green, with a green paper wrapper and a foil wrapper underneath. I even remember the Palmolive name etched on the foil wrapper.
    Most people just rubbed the wet brush on the end of the stick. As the stick wore down, you'd peel off some more of the foil wrapper. You had te be careful with hoe you rubbed the brush or you'd end up with a pointy stick!!
    It was a great soap and it brings back lots of memories of Tuscany in 1959...
    - tryphon, 8 years ago
  • Is there a good online retailer of Arko products (I've never run across them)? Also, where is Arko made? Italy? Thanks.
    - inkling, 8 years ago
  • http://www.tulumba.com/

    It is a Turkish brand.
    - letterk, 8 years ago
  • Is there a good online retailer of Arko products (I've never run across them)? Also, where is Arko made? Italy? Thanks.
    go to talumba.com it is made in Turkey.

    edit:
    hrm that doesn't work. try this:
    turkish taste (http://www.turkishtaste.com/toiletries1.html)
    - Harkonnendog, 8 years ago
  • www.tulumba.com Not Talumba :smile:

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • thanks crackstar! beat me to it!
    - Harkonnendog, 8 years ago
  • looks like tulumba is cheapter than turkish taste, btw
    - Harkonnendog, 8 years ago
  • Thank you gents -- now that's what I call service! I live very near a middle eastern market that carries a few Turkish products so I'll check there on the way home tonight. Otherwise it looks like tonight I'll be explaining to SWMBO why I spent money at a Turkish Web site. :blushing:

    ME: "Well you see dear, this Turkish shaving soap offers fine lubrication and incredible lathering capabilities. It will provide a nice counterpoint to my creams from Portugal, Italy and the U.K."
    HER: "Why can't you just buy a can of Edge gel at Safeway like everyone else?!"
    - inkling, 8 years ago
  • Tulumba is a great site. I was able to order one each of their 5 or 6 Arko creams and 2 sticks for under 20 bucks shipped!
    - rossination, 8 years ago
  • Now I can understand Arko Citrus and Arko Sensitive. But does anyone know what Arko Commando (http://www.tulumba.com/storeItem.asp?ic=BB878987YT564) is? Sounds dangerous!

    :a41: :shaving:
    - inkling, 8 years ago
  • Tulumba is shipping me...
    - Arko Shave Stick (Berber Traş Kremi)
    - Tube of Arko Commando (curiousity got the best of me)
    - Alum block (only $2.99!)

    The middle eastern grocer in my neighborhood didn't carry any toiletries, but I ended up buying a can of Turkish coffee and a special pot to make it in... Mmmmm, I can get used to that every morning!
    - inkling, 8 years ago
  • ...But does anyone know what Arko Commando (http://www.tulumba.com/storeItem.asp?ic=BB878987YT564) is? Sounds dangerous!

    :a41: :shaving:

    Arko Commando makes you feel so free and natural that after using it you decide to "go commando" :eek:
    - reginald-van-gleason, 8 years ago
  • Arko Commando makes you feel so free and natural that after using it you decide to "go commando" :eek:

    LOL! Now I'm curious where on my bod I'm supposed to use Commando cream... :blush:
    - inkling, 8 years ago
  • Tulumba is shipping me...
    - Arko Shave Stick (Berber Traş Kremi)
    - Tube of Arko Commando (curiousity got the best of me)
    - Alum block (only $2.99!)

    The middle eastern grocer in my neighborhood didn't carry any toiletries, but I ended up buying a can of Turkish coffee and a special pot to make it in... Mmmmm, I can get used to that every morning!

    Good stuff and great service, although the alum block does not look as clear and smooth as the stuff I used to get in Italy for just a few lire.
    - tryphon, 8 years ago
  • Tryphon, Commando's a hell of a cream, but that soap stick is the BOMB!!!!! Wait til you smell that clean, soapy scent, and wait til you lather up with it! I use it by placing it in a big mug, and with a brush I just scrub myself up a mountain of lather. I believe you'll love it.

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • Good stuff and great service, although the alum block does not look as clear and smooth as the stuff I used to get in Italy for just a few lire.

    This is my first alum block, so i have no comparison. I believe this block is smaller than most as well, but it seems to work well for me.

    I used the Commando twice and the scent is familiar, but I can't quite place it. It is citrus with a hint of something darker.. musk maybe? I'm no fragrance expert, so perhaps crackstar could help on this one. Nevertheless, I really enjoy it; light but not trivial.

    I used the shave stick yesterday. Since it was my first time with any shave stick, it took a while to get going, but then the lather exploded. I'm looking forward to using it again tomorrow or Saturday. I have a my first tube of Tabac cream being delivered today, so that might take precedence.

    In a related issue, I am still stunned how fast Tulumba.com ships this stuff. I ordered it at 8 am Saturday, choosing the cheapest shipping option (USPS Priority Mail) and it was sitting in my mailbox at 11 am Monday. That's all the way from Brooklyn to Phoenix!

    I have definitely become an Arko convert! :cool:
    - inkling, 8 years ago
  • Commando reminds me vaguely of an Israeli made cream called Lavendor, but without the menthol. It is a sort of citrusy-woodsy scent, which is very pleasant.

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • Commando reminds me vaguely of an Israeli made cream called Lavendor, but without the menthol. It is a sort of citrusy-woodsy scent, which is very pleasant.

    Jeff
    Yes, a definite wood scent rather than musk. Whatever it is, I like it.

    Jon
    - inkling, 8 years ago
  • Jon, enjoy it, it's a wonderful cream. I also have the aftershave/cologne to compliment it when I shave with it.

    Jeff
    - crackstar, 8 years ago
  • Jeff,

    I'm still a bit confused: do you like Arko?:rolleyes: :biggrin:
    - mrob, 8 years ago
  • Jeff, I couldn't take it anymore. I broke down and paid the hefty shipping at Tulumba and got 5 shave sticks of Arko soap.:eek:
    To make it worthwhile :biggrin: I grabbed 2 tubes of the Commando, I've only used a sample of it before and liked it very much.
    I do have the Sensitive and Moist and love :tongue_sm those very much, but these are the only ones I've found locally.
    - Nitrox, 8 years ago
  • Jeff, I couldn't take it anymore. I broke down and paid the hefty shipping at Tulumba and got 5 shave sticks of Arko soap.:eek:
    To make it worthwhile :biggrin: I grabbed 2 tubes of the Commando, I've only used a sample of it before and liked it very much.
    I do have the Sensitive and Moist and love :tongue_sm those very much, but these are the only ones I've found locally.

    how much does Tulumba charge for shipping?
    - TraderJoe, 8 years ago
  • how much does Tulumba charge for shipping?



    I ordered 6 items and the shipping was 6.00 But I can almost see them in Brooklyn from here.:biggrin:
    - Jim, 8 years ago
  • I ordered 6 items and the shipping was 6.00 But I can almost see them in Brooklyn from here.:biggrin:

    :lol: too bad they didn't offer you the "carry-out" option
    - TraderJoe, 8 years ago
  • how much does Tulumba charge for shipping?

    To ship to Canada is way more expensive than to ship within the USA.
    Let's just say it's about $10 a pound, maybe twice as much, if not more, as within the USA.
    - Nitrox, 8 years ago
  • Tryphon, Commando's a hell of a cream, but that soap stick is the BOMB!!!!! Wait til you smell that clean, soapy scent, and wait til you lather up with it! I use it by placing it in a big mug, and with a brush I just scrub myself up a mountain of lather. I believe you'll love it.

    Jeff
    I tried the stick and it is great! It smells like old-fashioned Savon de Marseille, the stuff my grandma used to wash linens... Great trip into the past!! I tried the sensitive skin cream and I liked it. It gave me a very smooth shave.
    I also tried the Lemon cream and did not like the scent at all, although it also gave a good shave. There is an after-odor that I'd rather not describe... very odd. Reminds me of a latrine... I was looking forward to a good citrus scent and was disappointed. Monsavon in France make a cheap soap with a superb citrus scent. It comes in a cream-colored bowl and costs only a couple of Euros. Highly recommended!
    Anyway, the Arko stick is great and will become my travel soap!
    - tryphon, 8 years ago
  • Even though I don't like the scent of the Arko soap as much as the Arko creams, Arko soap gives me the best shave of ANYTHING that I own. Always a BBS face, regardless of poor technique, shoddy strokes, etc.

    I love the stuff!
    - rossination, 8 years ago
  • it is obligatory to serve in the military in turkey and it is obligatory to shave every morning in the military.
    so the arko commando is intended for the turkish soldiers.
    - polat, 6 years ago
  • Welcome, Polat!
    I had a couple of roommates in college who were from Turkey. I don't remember what they shaved with! I learned a few words so I could talk to their parents on the phone!
    Oh, I love the Arko shave stick as well. Works great!

    Norm
    - norman931, 6 years ago
  • I tried the arko shavestick for the first time today. (Giovanni sent me a complimentary stick with my blade order)

    The stuff lathered up REALLY well. It was one of the best shaves I've ever had. It seems easy to shave recklessly with this stuff.:thumbup1:
    - guitarslinger, 6 years ago
  • I always get a great shave with Arko soap and creams! I echo Crackstars enthusiasum..... Pete
    - skateblade, 6 years ago
  • Arko and BLIX is made by the same Turkish company. I understand that BLIX is discontinued.
    Doe anyone know where I can get BLIX?
    I've looked and googled but nothing shows up as a place to buy it. BLIX is said to be VERY nice as well as ARKO.
    - TOB9595, 6 years ago
  • Jeff, if you can read this, (since you wrote your last message in 2006) there is a Turkish Barber in Montreal, that uses Arko shaving sticks, (and sell them too) Commando Cream (Originally made for us, Turkish Soldiers) and Straight Razors and Barber Scissors, as it is the custom in Turkey. All their equipment comes directly from Turkey too. The owners (Ali, Alim and Osman) are really good friends of me, just tell them Emir Ali (me) sent you and tell them "Hi" from me if you ever go. (I'm back in Turkey since half a year)

    I can guarantee you the best shaving experience you will have in all Canada! As they are very experimented barbers on the Turkish soil already.

    They are at the corner of Champagneur and St.Roch in the Parc Metro (I still have their business card) and their number is 514 - 227 5861.

    The name of the place is "gold scissors" that is a direct translation of the nickname of a legendary turkish barber of the 50's in Istanbul.

    I hope I was helpful.

    Emir
    - eae1983, 6 years ago
  • Great thread..Really enjoyed this one....
    - jss, 6 years ago
  • I recently visited Golden Scissors barber shop. All I can say is this the real deal, a genuine Turkish barber shop experience! Osman did a wonderful job and I will surely be going there again. Here is a video to give an idea of what the Turkish shave is all about:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbOuCslWosQ
    - Badgister, 3 years ago
  • Agreed, Arko stick is fantastic. So good and so inexpensive.

    The scent won't be to everyone's taste. Out of the wrapper it was even a little strong for me, and I like eating the most stinky cheeses!

    It did smell a lot like latrine puck, too much so. But as I'm learning, you can't judge the scent of a soap right out of the wrapper. In some cases, it's like 10 times more potent out of the wrapper than it is after a period of mellowing.

    I learned this with both Arko and Tabac. After sitting in my open old-timey scuttle for over a month, it now has a nice, slightly sweet citrus/lemon scent that is redolent of tasty Pez candy when whipped up. Very refreshing and delightful. It's miles from the overwhelming toilet puck scent it had right out of the wrapper.

    So if the scent conks you over the head at first, don't despair. Just give it some time in the open and you may love the scent as much as you will love the performance.
    - K.T., 3 years ago
  • Agreed, Arko stick is fantastic. So good and so inexpensive.

    The scent won't be to everyone's taste. Out of the wrapper it was even a little strong for me, and I like eating the most stinky cheeses!

    It did smell a lot like latrine puck, too much so. But as I'm learning, you can't judge the scent of a soap right out of the wrapper. In some cases, it's like 10 times more potent out of the wrapper than it is after a period of mellowing.

    I learned this with both Arko and Tabac. After sitting in my open old-timey scuttle for over a month, it now has a nice, slightly sweet citrus/lemon scent that is redolent of tasty Pez candy when whipped up. Very refreshing and delightful. It's miles from the overwhelming toilet puck scent it had right out of the wrapper.

    So if the scent conks you over the head at first, don't despair. Just give it some time in the open and you may love the scent as much as you will love the performance.

    Haha 4 year old thread.

    I do agree 100% with this post though. I use Arko quite frequently.
    - kg4ghn, 3 years ago
  • Another Arko fan here! The soap is a fantastic performer- I don't believe that anyone would argue there and I am one of the lucky ones that quite enjoys the scent as well.
    - djh, 3 years ago
  • Jeff, if you can read this, (since you wrote your last message in 2006) there is a Turkish Barber in Montreal, that uses Arko shaving sticks, (and sell them too) Commando Cream (Originally made for us, Turkish Soldiers) and Straight Razors and Barber Scissors, as it is the custom in Turkey. All their equipment comes directly from Turkey too. The owners (Ali, Alim and Osman) are really good friends of me, just tell them Emir Ali (me) sent you and tell them "Hi" from me if you ever go. (I'm back in Turkey since half a year)

    I can guarantee you the best shaving experience you will have in all Canada! As they are very experimented barbers on the Turkish soil already.

    They are at the corner of Champagneur and St.Roch in the Parc Metro (I still have their business card) and their number is 514 - 227 5861.

    The name of the place is "gold scissors" that is a direct translation of the nickname of a legendary turkish barber of the 50's in Istanbul.

    I hope I was helpful.

    Emir

    I went to "Gold Scissors" today and had a haircut and a straight razor shave
    this is the best barbershop i ever went to
    - badboris, 3 years ago
  • I love Arko also !! I had a great shave with it tonight with one of my my 57 flare tip superspeeds before taking my wife out to dinner to a nice resturaunt. I smash two sticks in a VDH bowl.
    - demaro, 3 years ago
  • I love my Arko shave sticks. :thumbup:
    - Deltaboy, 3 years ago
  • Guys if you like its scent, then just try the "regular" cream. It has a very similar clean soapy scent but without the lemony addiction, which I think most will like.
    - Ozgun, 3 years ago
  • Clearly, this will be one of the threads that never dies, as there will always be us gnubs coming in and adding to it. Oddly enough, I just got two Arko sticks in the mail yesterday, and had my first Arko shave experience this morning. My experience will probably not be the same as most, as I got mine into a mug in a novel way. I had purchased two over the Internet because I have an old travel set with the tubes for a stick and brush that I am rebuilding. I had figured that if this was going to be my travel set once I get the new case built, I should have a shaving stick in its proper place. When the Arko sticks arrived, I realized that they were bigger than the tube by just a bit. It actually took me a minute to realize why these old tubes had the sliding bottoms in them, and I crammed that stick right in, the tube shaving off the excess. That left a chunk of Arko the size of a walnut left over, which I put in the bottom of a spare mug. Thus used with my badger brush, gave me an amazingly rich lather. As all the rest have said, it is a very effective soap, and help produce a good shave. It has a very clean tallow soap scent, with a hint of lemon. I find it pleasant enough. It is only because I love basking in the scent of the artisan bay rum soap I usually use that the Arko will not replace it as my every day shaving soap. It will, however, most certainly be used now and then for variety, as I love the lather.
    - rhonan, 3 years ago
  • it is obligatory to serve in the military in turkey and it is obligatory to shave every morning in the military.
    so the arko commando is intended for the turkish soldiers.

    National Service is also required of all medically fit male permanent residents and citizens of Singapore (one of two branches of the military or the national police force, two years plus 30 days a year thereafter until age 40) and Germany (nine months at age 19). I wonder what they use to shave in the morning. I personally think something like that should be adopted here in the States, especially the Singapore model -- the FBI and the Marines would really appreciate that.
    - mharris127, 3 years ago
  • I just finished up a shave. My first with Arko. And I have to say I share a lot of the same sentiments as Jeff. Great lather, glide and smooth, cheap, all and all a great shave. I'd say I'm in the middle Arko camp though, as I still can not find love in my heart for the smell. I tried. I really really tried. I even let it air out for a month.

    In the end, it's still a great soap. Dollar for dollar perhaps the best soap I've used. And it will remain in my rotation for a good long time.
    - ruebis, 3 years ago
  • i've had a stick of Arko for the past few months just sitting in my room it was a gift from a relative. i don't know why i've waited so long to try it but this stuff is amazing. i used my shavemac brush w/ the Arko stick and i've never had such an explosion of lather. i didn't think it could get any better than Tabac but Arko is a true treasure.
    - Addallat, 3 years ago
  • I'd say I'm in the middle Arko camp though, as I still can not find love in my heart for the smell.


    It won't take long before you realize that the scent of Arko is part of one of the best shaves possible. It'll grow on you.
    - talibeard, 3 years ago
  • tryphon, commando's a hell of a cream, but that soap stick is the bomb!!!!! Wait til you smell that clean, soapy scent, and wait til you lather up with it! I use it by placing it in a big mug, and with a brush i just scrub myself up a mountain of lather. I believe you'll love it.

    Jeff

    +10^100 :laugh:
    - Viseguy, 3 years ago
  • I just opened my Arko stick and smashed it into my shaving mug with a large empty prescription bottle. It took a fair amount of force but eventually after about a minute of pushing, I did get it to smush into a puck. As for the smell (which many on here hate), it smells like an older laundry soap (the kind you use in a sink with a scrubbing board, my grandmother didn't have a washing machine until 1990) to me. Actually it brings back memories of childhood. I don't get much of the urinal puck smell that others comment on. I was going to use the Arko cream for all of my sampler blade testing, but I am tempted to lather it up for tomorrow's shave. Since it is softer than most pucks or sticks, I would expect it to lather up easier and fill the brush better than most pucks.
    - mharris127, 3 years ago
  • Arko is very easy to get a quality shaving lather from I noticed. I don't really mind the smell at all. It is an excellent soap to recommend to people just starting out wetshaving(due to price). Ironically my brother lives in Istanbul, and I never thought to ask him if he even tried it.
    - InHotWater, 3 years ago
  • I recently visited Golden Scissors barber shop. All I can say is this the real deal, a genuine Turkish barber shop experience! Osman did a wonderful job and I will surely be going there again. Here is a video to give an idea of what the Turkish shave is all about:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbOuCslWosQ

    Why is it that neither barber seems to be well shaven? Strange! But I used to go to an Italian barber who had shaggy wild hair, looked like an older Andy Warhol. He said he was too busy to get his own hair done, though he was always impeccably shaved.
    - miatapaul, 3 years ago
  • My experience with shaving soaps and creams is still fairly limited, having run through C&E Nomad, CO Bigelow, Speick and Tabac, plus a couple that were a complete waste of time. That being said, I am very glad that I spent the pittance I put down for a stick of Arko, as it is hands down, the best lather/shave of all I've tried at significantly less expense.

    I found the smell grew on me, but not so much on a few others with whom I would soon be travelling. I also found that I had no travel soap setup at that time, and hit upon an idea to remedy both issues at once: I bought a small 18/8 stainless steel tiffin about three inches in diameter. Into that I placed about the top third of a puck of Tabac. I warmed that up double-boiler style so that the Tabac was softened, then worked in about 2/3 of a stick of fresh Arko that had not lost not a bit of scent. Once everything was homogenous, I let it cool, tamping it down further as it set. The result was still 80% or better of the thick lather and smooth shave of Arko, had set up a bit harder against the heat of the Texas Summer sun we were travelling under, and had everyone asking me where I found the really nice soap in the shiny shaving bowl [this coming from the same folks who had derided the scent of "that Turkish stuff" when I showed it to them the first time]. I still use Arko straight at home, but this blend is still my go-to option for the road.
    - Baker, 3 years ago
  • Oh, by the way: I found Arko for sale on Amazon listed "12+3 free pcs" (fifteen, idnit?!) for $19.99, with free shipping. Best deal I've seen. With that order's arrival, I'll have enough Arko around to spread my insanity to others and still hoard plenty away for later.

    Mu ha ha ha!
    - Baker, 3 years ago
  • Oh, by the way: I found Arko for sale on Amazon listed "12+3 free pcs" (fifteen, idnit?!) for $19.99, with free shipping. Best deal I've seen. With that order's arrival, I'll have enough Arko around to spread my insanity to others and still hoard plenty away for later.

    Mu ha ha ha!

    Both ARKO and TABAC are great soaps. Never thought about mixing the two. I cannot imagine what the mixture would smell like?
    - Doodi1, 3 years ago
  • Yessir, I was fairly worried about the results of that combination, but found the end result to be quite nice, even to the nose of those who recoiled from the Arko alone. Maybe folding the Arko into the warmth allowed it to shed some heat? A bit of the Arko smell is still there, but it is quite different beneath the Tabac. Makes me wonder how well aired-out Arko would take some scented oil.
    - Baker, 3 years ago
  • Yessir, I was fairly worried about the results of that combination, but found the end result to be quite nice, even to the nose of those who recoiled from the Arko alone. Maybe folding the Arko into the warmth allowed it to shed some heat? A bit of the Arko smell is still there, but it is quite different beneath the Tabac. Makes me wonder how well aired-out Arko would take some scented oil.

    Oh man, you're giving me some ideas! May have to try this...
    - Cmaster03, 3 years ago

Comment